Mimosa pudica

Two almost identical shots of a wild plant called mimosa pudica, or colloquially known as the touch-me-not.

When I was a kid, my mom told these were called touch-me-nots and I thought it was just a name she made up herself. But recently I started Googling for information (“fuzzy purple flowers vines thorns leaves that close” and so forth) and eventually found that this plant is indeed commonly called the touch-me-not.

I’ve included two photos of this one. The first photo was taken at f8.0 to provide a more “documentary” photo so that the details of the plant can be seen more sharply.

Where I live, sort of south-easterly of San Antonio, Texas, the leaves and flowers of these plants are generally somewhat smaller than those that grow in the San Antonio/Bexar County area. I don’t know if it’s because they are different varieties or if it has something to do with the soil they grow in.

Anyway, the leaves of these plants will close if you touch them. They also close at night and reopen in the daylight. They spread along the ground by vines; I don’t think I’ve ever seen one climbing on anything like most vined plants will do. They have very small thorns but are easily handled; the thorns tend to be somewhat flexible and like I said before are quite small.

IMG_0644

The second photo was taken at f3.4 to blur the background and make the flower in front pop out a little better. I like the second picture best. The scent of these little purple fuzzballs is intensely sweet.

IMG_0640

Leave a Reply

